Kick in The Ass

Kick in The Ass

I gave myself a well deserved “Kick in the Ass” after my last post and I am now back on course. I thank everyone who responded to my melt down and wanted you to know the photo I posted is my car loaded up for my first exhibition. As a kid I dreamed of being an artist …a successful artist… I imagined all I would have to do is create art and it would sell. I was so wrong this is a full time career and the making of the art ,although I feel the most important , is only the tip of the iceberg. I think I resented the amount of time that has to be dedicated to networking and the other aspects of this career. I learned from my first show that the instillation was an all day process and then ones presence at the show. The art of mingling and actually a bit of acting is involved and all of this is done while not being able to do what we as artist love…making new art. Oh ! We could pay someone to do this but if you have not reached this stage in your endeavors it is best to do it yourself. The show is on till August 27th and then college begins, I will once again be in an environment which is solely creative and I will recharge.

1 Comment

August 16, 2012 · 3:04 pm

One response to “Kick in The Ass

  1. I certainly hope your show goes well. Those things are nerve-racking sometimes.

Leave a Reply

